Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 14.36.15.png

2D Animation Evaluation:

I have  made my animation using Adobe photoshop, Adobe Illustrator and Adobe After Effects to create my animation and the assets to go with it. Having learned before different animation techniques and the layout of After effects to successfully create a keyframe animation.  A Keyframe animation is where there user uses a timeline to edit and and put effects in at certain times. This is a good form of animating because when you animate something going form point a to b the software will fill in between.

The animation style i went for was a easy 2d animation with a perspective of a 3d giving the animation graphics and depth to the illustrations. I have kept the same animation style thought out the whole animation.

In after effect I have used effects like screen transition as well as text boxes and  shapes. I have used a keyframe animation because i think its a lot easier to do so with the program filling the animation for you it also saves a lot time, however i noticed that sometimes the program tends to bug and not fill in the information and move the objects instantly  instead.

I was influenced by old 2d animations like tom and jerry flintiness  with simple graphics and animation movement.  I liked theses animation as a kid thats why i went with such style because the animation target audience were children and the animation ratting should either be u or pg.

At first my idea was going to be about the battle of stalingrad and the sense of hopes for the soliders to see their families yet again as well as see the new rise of the sun.

Then i was going to make it about ww 1 and how soliders wanted to see the end of water however both of these idea went out because i needed something suitable for children. Thats when i decided about idea of a mum cat losing her child and hoping to see find it again however i decided to choose an idea of a an apple that didnt’t fit in the world. That then it dead and because it didn’t stop believing it gotten a second chance to live.

I think that my animation was good but it could have spend more time doing animations and spend more time developing the story and the final idea as well as sketches and the animation key points that clear up the story more for the viewers.

https://docs.google.com/a/student.kingston-college.ac.uk/forms/d/1dU5VTTMjimWKBbtu4Bdq_iI0XQrdNbH06SPLCW9mxh8/edit

Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 11.13.20

This question gives me  feedback about the music I have used to create an ending with a sad atmosphere and looking at peoples responses it shows me that I have mostly successfully transported the feeling to the viewers.

Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 11.13.09

The first question I asked if I should animate anything else that would improve the general quality of the animation and the feedback I got was that i haven’t generally done a lot of animation and my animation felt still, which shows me that I need to put more effort into animating and and researching different animation techniques.

The second question I was asking about my colour pallet choice and how did it create an atmosphere at the end of the animation and what they felt, my plan was for it to be confusing, the audience should fell sad and happy at the same time, the result showed that I mostly succeeded however I thought that I needed to add something extra to the ending that will show this feeling even more.

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 11.12.58

Asking about the speed of the animation which showed that mostly my animation felt the right pace but not for all, this is something I need to improve on i keeping the same speed of the animation through out the project.

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 11.12.49

Some viewers got the idea that the representation of hope was not giving up however I think that thats the worst part of my animation it the story doesn’t make sense and it doesn’t really represent anything. This is something I really need to improve in the future and focus on mostly.

Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 11.12.36

This support my paragraph above that the story makes no sense.

This feedback shows me that my naming was correct and it fit the animation as well as represented a deeper meaning of home is where you are believe it is not where you are.

This is a link to the questionnaire that I gave to other students in the class so they can fill in and i can get feedback about animation. I’m going to use this feedback to improve my future projects as well as pay more attention to details that where specified in the feedback i received back.

As well as student feedback I received brief feedback from my teacher about my animation style, grammar mistakes and my story and how it didn’t fully represent hope. After taking back this feedback i have rethought my animation and made sure that its easier for others to understand the story as well as making it look more professional.

Comparing this animation to  a professional made animation like tom and jerry which i spoke about in my research my animation is a lot more slower and has a lot less animation inside of it compared, by this i mean most of my frames are still images.

Stop motion Evaluation:

After doing my 2d animation i have done the research and gathered different ideas for my stop motion as well as doing a mood boards and story boards with different ideas to help me form my final product.

I have settled with a idea of smarties being placed frame by frame onto the black appear forming a letter n. Then I have added gun sounds so it enhances the frames making them look like someone is shooting them onto the paper. This type of stop motion is called object stop motion where object move around the screen with no visible help from living things as well as not representing any living thing.

If i don’t this again i would add something to the animation because its really simple as well as make sure the camera wasn’t moving each frame because it makes the animation look jittery. Also make less distraction on the screens at the background because instead of focusing on the moving objects the eye also look around the background distracting the audience from the main focus of my animation.

My first idea was about me spilling water and then moving it with my finger to form the letter n  however after receiving feedback from my teacher i was told that its not really stop motion because i could have just recorded that instead of making frame by frame. So I decided on this to make it look like its magically appearing on the screen.

 

Leave a Reply

